This page is also available in: Welsh

 

 

 Cantorion considers itself to be more than a group of singers. It is a microcosm of the North Wales region in general and the area’s individual communities in particular. As such, it has a real family atmosphere, a vibrant social life and a more than convivial welcome is given to casual visitors who frequent its rehearsals which are usually every other Sunday afternoon (2pm to 5pm), in St Mary’s Church Room, Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia.

Your closer involvement is genuinely sought. Please keep in touch through our web site, its Guest book, Facebook, YouTube, our Contact Page and by e-mail. We look forward to meeting you !

Rehearsal for 2019

To be held at St Mary’s Church Hall, Betws-y-Coed

at 2.00 p.m   (unless stated otherwise)

                   

2019 Rehearsal Schedule   (with Concerts )

Sunday 13th January

Sunday 20th January

       Friday 25th January – Concert Capel Seion, Llanrwst

Sunday 3rd February

        Saturday 16th February – Concert Amlwch

Sunday 17th February

        Saturday 23rd February – Concert RNCM Manchester

Sunday 3rd March

Sunday 17th March

         Wednesday 27th March – Concert Penley, Wrexham

Sunday 31st March

Sunday 14th April           

Sunday 28th April

         Saturday 11th May, Concert Llanfihangel yng Ngwynfa

Sunday 12th May

Sunday 26th May

Sunday 9th June   

Sunday 23rd June          

Sunday 7th July   

Sunday 21st July

        No rehearsals in August

Sunday 1st September

Sunday 15th September 

Sunday 29th September            

Sunday 13th October            

Sunday 27th October

Sunday 10th November

Sunday 24th November

Sunday 8th December

Sunday 22nd December             

 

‘Entertain, Excite and Enthral’ – an appropriate motto for Cantorion Gogledd Cymru. This unique male voice concert chorus embodies all that is best in the tradition of Welsh male voice singing. The choir’s breathtaking and uncompromising sound has captivated audiences with its performances since its inception in 1992. Its 45 members travel from all over North Wales to rehearse every other Sunday afternoon in beautiful Betws-y-Coed in the heart of Snowdonia. The village’s dramatic location provides an inspirational and perfect setting for a choir which is renowned for its ‘full, exciting sound’ and dynamic performances.

Workers from Anglesey, men of Harlech,  farmers from the Conwy valley, contractors from Dolgellau and many others, all residents of famous Welsh towns and villages, gather to share their love of singing as only the Welsh can do! Choristers, young and old, eisteddfod winners, concert soloists, trained musicians sing together with experienced voices from some of North Wales’ finest male voice choirs.

During its relatively short history, the Cantorion have created a considerable reputation home and abroad. They have toured extensively, performing concerts in Singapore, Australia, the USA, Canada, Finland, Malta and more recently France and Italy. The choir is regularly invited back for repeat performances and, inevitably, its concert programme is a busy one exploring new venues and engaging with new audiences in the UK and overseas. In doing so it has made many new friends and maintains close links with other choirs, often sharing concert platforms and evenings of celebration. The choir is as good ‘off the stage’ as it is ‘on duty’.